GWT and J2EE

My quest after a consistent AJAX interface continues with the next stop, GWT. It sounds impressive that I only have to code Java, and the client will be compiled in static HTML and JavaScript by the GWT compiler. It provides the complete platform independence. Once compiled, the web pages can be used within any web server.

What about the client server communication? Is this a step back to the static content? Standard GWT provides mechanisms of calling a servlet, with  given classes, which have to implement a proprietary GWT serialization interface. Further researches revealed GWT-EXT, here are even MVC GUI controls available.

So once the client-server communication layer is implemented, development of enterprise J2EE applications can be accomplished quite fast. A closed source application, gwt-plus, with a cost of about $200/year provides a transparent way of working with the beans and collection of beans on the server side over the GWT RPC from the GWT client.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “GWT and J2EE”

  1. Umpirsky Says:

    Do you understand GWTExt licences? If I develop my own site in GWTExt, do I have to pay them?

    For team of developers that works for a clients in a company OFC they have to pay Ext licence.

  2. razvanp Says:

    GWTExt is LGPL. Meaning that you can use it in your product through “dynamic linking” without being forced to propagate the license. On the other hand, GWTExt requires ExtJS which is _not_ part of GWTExt, and it has to be downloaded separately. ExtJS is distributed under two licenses: GPL or proprietary. When starting the project you have to accept one and it seems you cannot change you mind later on.

    If it’s your own site, you can pick the GPL license. All users of the site will have to have access to the source code of the site. The question is, who are the users? The visitors of the site, or you as deployer of the code? I think the second is correct.

    I have evaluated the technology, and I find it reliable. The university I work for forbids me to embed GPL products (but not LGPL) into the software, so Gwt-Ext or ExtGWT are not for them, except if I convince them to buy it. On the other hand, I have a company, if any customer would require advanced AJAX controls, I would pay the money for ExtJS.

    I am not a lawyer, the above comment represent solely my opinion. If you are unsure, contact a IP lawyer. But I can assure you, ExtJS license is cheaper 🙂

Leave a Reply

